Performances

CURRENT PERFORMANCES

Come celebrate!

International Dance Day | Performance by Gansango & friends

Sunday April 29, 2018 – 6pm

Open Flight Studio | 4205 University Way NE | Seattle, WA 98105

Sammamish Parkadilly | Gansango performance

Sunday July 22 at 2:00 pm

Lake Sammamish State Park | 2000 NW Sammamish Rd. | Issaquah, WA 98027

This summer Gansango offers a series of two-person “African Showcase” performances and “African Beats” Workshops at Western Washington libraries in June, July and August. See schedule of dates, times and locations below:

African Beats Workshop: Come shake, rattle and roll with two African teaching artists who will engage participants in learning basic West African rhythms with hands-on use of drums, bells, shakers and clapping. This interactive workshop will entertain and educate for all ages.

African Showcase Performance: Travel to Africa for the day! Teaching artists from Gansango Music & Dance Company perform music and dance from West Africa. This interactive performance will entertain and educate, blending contemporary and traditional dance with drumming, song and audience participation.

JUNE 2018

African Showcase

Federal Way 320th Library

34200 1st Way S.

Federal Way, WA 98003

Saturday, June 2 at 1 pm
African Beats Workshop

Kent Library

212 2nd Ave N.

Kent, WA 98032

Saturday, June 9 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Mercer Island Boys & Girls Club

4120 86th Ave SE

Mercer Island, WA 98040

Tuesday, June 19 at 2 pm
African Showcase (3pm)

African Beats Workshop (5pm)

Oak Harbor Library

1000 SE Regatta Dr.

Oak Harbor, WA 98277

Thursday, June 21 at 3 pm and 5 pm

 

African Beats workshop

Gig Harbor Library

4424 Point Fosdick Dr NW

Gig Harbor, WA 98335

Tuesday, June 26 at 10:30 am
African Showcase

University Place Library

3609 Market Place W.

University Place, WA 98466

Tuesday, June 26 at 3 pm

 

African Beats Workshop

Lake Stevens Library

1804 Main St.

Lake Stevens, WA  98466

Thursday, June 28 at 10 am
African Beats Workshop

Kingsgate Library

12315 NE 143rd St.

Kirkland, WA  98034

Thursday, June 28 at 2 pm

 

JULY 2018

African Showcase

Bremerton Library

1301 Sylvan Way

Bremerton, WA 98310

Tuesday, July 2 at 10:30 am
African Showcase

Shoreline Library

345 NE 175th St.
Shoreline, WA  98155
Thursday, July 5 at 2 pm
African Beats Workshop

University Library

5009 Roosevelt Way NE

Seattle, WA 98105

Friday, July 5 at 11 am
African Beats Workshop

Greenwood Library

8016 Greenwood Ave N.

Seattle, WA 98103

Saturday July 7 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Silverdale Library

3450 NW Carlton St.

Silverdale, WA 98383

Tuesday, July 10 at 6 pm
African Beats Workshop

Parkland Spanaway Library

13718 Pacific Ave S.

Tacoma, WA 98444

Wednesday, July 11 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Vashon Library

17210 Vashon Highway SW
Vashon Island WA 98070
Thursday, July 12 at 4 pm
African Beats Workshop

Tillicum Library

14916 Washington Ave SW

Lakewood, WA 98498

Friday, July 13 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Fife Library at Dacca Park

2820 54th Ave E.

Fife, WA 98424

Friday, July 13 at 5 pm
African Showcase

Lakewood Library

6300 Wildaire Rd SW
Lakewood, WA 98499
Friday, July 20 at 11 am
African Beats Workshop

Auburn Library

1102 Auburn Way S.

Auburn, WA 98002

Saturday, July 14th at 2 pm
African Showcase

Federal Way Library

34200 1st Way S.

Federal Way, WA 98003

Monday, July 16 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Skyway Library

12601 76th Ave S.

Seattle, WA 98178

Wednesday, July 18 at 2 pm
African Beats Workshop

Crossroads Community Center

16000 NE 10th St.

Bellevue, WA 98008

Thursday July 19 time TBD
African Beats Workshop

Steilacoom Community Center

2301 Worthington St.

Steilacoom, WA 98388

Friday, July 20 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Queen Anne Library

400 W Garfield St.

Seattle, WA 98119

Monday, July 23 at 6:15 pm
African Showcase

Monroe Library

1070 Village Way

Monroe, WA 98272

Tuesday, July 24 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Newcastle Library

12901 Newcastle Way

Newcastle, WA 98056

Monday, July 30 at 11 am
African Showcase

Sequim Library

630 N Sequim Ave

Sequim, WA 98382

Tuesday, July 31 at 10:30 am
African Beats Workshop

Port Angeles Library

2210 S Peabody St,

Port Angeles, WA 98362

Tuesday, July 31 at 2 pm

 

AUGUST 2018

African Showcase

Yesler Terrace

917 E Yesler Way

Seattle, WA 98122

Wednesday August 1 at 3 pm
African Showcase

Madrona Playground Park

3211 E Spring St.

Seattle, WA 98122

Thursday August 2 at 10:30 am
African Showcase

Rainier Community Center

4600 38th Ave S

Seattle, WA 98118

Tuesday, August 7 at 6 pm
African Showcase

Lacey Timberland Library

500 College St SE.

Lacey, WA 98503

Thursday, August 9 at 2 pm
African Showcase

Redmond Regional Library

15990 NE 85th St.

Redmond, WA 98052

Friday, August 10 at 11 am
African Beats Workshop

Northgate Library

10548 5th Ave NE

Seattle, WA 98125

Tuesday, August 14 at 6 pm
African Showcase

Crossroads Community Center

16000 NE 10th St.

Bellevue, WA 98008

Thursday, August 16th at 11 am

 

African Showcase

New Holly Library

Family Fun Fest

7058 32nd Ave. S.
Seattle, WA 98118
Saturday, August 25 at 12:30 pm